Bloody Scotland 2021 McIlvanney Prize Long List Announced

The McIlvanney Prize recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, and includes a prize of £1,000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

Five years ago the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney. His  his final book, The Dark Remains has now been completed with the help of Ian Rankin. In this special year, Bloody Scotland is delighted to announce the longlist for the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year.

Thanks go to The Glencairn Glass, the World’s Favourite Whisky Glass and the Official Glass for Whisky for sponsoring this year’s prize.

bloody scotland logo

The Long List 2021 McIlvanney Prize – Scottish Crime Book of the Year

The Cut, Chris Brookmyre (Little,Brown)
The Silent Daughter, Emma Christie (Wellbeck)
Before the Storm, Alex Gray (Little, Brown)
Dead Man’s Grave, Neil Lancaster (HarperCollins, HQ)
The Coffinmaker’s Garden, Stuart MacBride (HarperCollins)
Still Life, Val McDermid (Little,Brown)
Bad Debt, William McIntyre (Sandstone)
The Less Dead, Denise Mina (Vintage)
How To Survive Everything, Ewan Morrison (Saraband)
Edge of the Grave, Robbie Morrison (Macmillan)
The April Dead, Alan Parks (Canongate)
Hyde, Craig Russell (Constable)
Waking the Tiger, Mark Wightman (Hobeck Books)


The McIlvanney Prize will be judged by Karen Robinson, formerly of The Times Crime Club
and a CWA judge; Ayo Onatade, winner of the CWA Red Herring Award and freelance crime
fiction critic and Ewan Wilson, crime fiction buyer from Waterstones Glasgow.

Information about the long listed books


Women's Library - In Conversation with Paria Goodarzi
Bungalow Cafe at Mother India, Kelvingrove, Glasgow

This section: Books, Talks, Poetry and Creative Writing Events, Pat's Home Page Blog

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design