Thursday 16 November, 2023 6.15 p.m. – 7.30 p.m.

Mitchell Library, North Street, Glasgow G3 7DN


Join some of Scotland’s best new writing talent: the shortlisted authors for the 2023 Kavya New Writers’ Award!

Hear readings from the authors, plus there will be a chance to network with the judges (including literary agents) and the winner of the inaugural prize for new writers will be announced.

leela soma twitter image

The Kavya Prize for Scottish writers of colour was founded by Scottish-Indian author Leela Soma, in collaboration with Creative Writing at University of Glasgow. The inaugural prize for published writers was awarded to playwright Uma Nada-Rajah


  • Amira Al Shanti – The Witch of Womanhood (Short Story)
  • Samia Chandraker – Minerva Street (Short Story)
  • Samina Chaudry – Belonging Neither to These nor Those (Novel Excerpt)
  • Josephine Chun Rui Jay – Laowai (Novel Excerpt)
  • Yasmin Hanif – The Bear with No Name (Children’s Story)
  • Q Manivannan – The Physics of It (Non-Fiction Excerpt)
  • Theresa Muñoz – Hummingbird (Non-Fiction Essay)
  • Tae Song – 1986 (Novel Excerpt)
  • Jinling Wu – Cocoon (Short Story Collection)
  • Alexandra Ye – This Story (Short Story)

Part of Book Week Scotland 


Double Vision: Double Voice Jim Ferguson
Celebrating Leela Soma and Murder at the Mela

This section: Book Week Scotland, Book Week Scotland=2023, Books, Talks, Poetry and Creative Writing Events

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design