Bloody Scotland, Crime Writing Festival 11 – 13 September, 2015

bloody scotland

bloody scotland

This year to mark 125 years since the birth of Agatha Christie events will include

The Poisons of Agatha Christie

Saturday 12 September from 1:30 pm2:30 pm

| £7.50 / 6.50

Celebrating the grande dame of crime with Dr Kathryn Harkup, author of A is for Arsenic, a fascinating look at the poisons Christie used to kill her characters. Christie’s murderers used poison more often than any other method, and her choice of deadly substances was far from random; the characteristics of each poison provide vital clues to catch the murderer. With gunshots or stabbings the cause of death is obvious, but not so with poisons. How is it that some compounds prove so deadly, and in such tiny amounts?

Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Masterclass

Friday 11 September from 9:30 am5:00 pm

| Early bird offer £85 / 75 thereafter £95 / 85

Once again teaming up with the University of Stirling to hold a masterclass day, with gems of valuable advice and insights from some brilliant crime authors.

Special Early Bird Booking Offer – £85 / £75 concession – only until 1st August.

All those who book the masterclass will receive a 10% discount on tickets for the rest of the festival, so why not join us for the weekend?

Includes: Denise Mina: The Craft of Crime Writing, Alan Guthrie on Self-editing for Crime Writers and Alexandra Sokoloff – Screenwriting for Crime Writers.

Full details of masterclass day

Chris Brookmyre

Saturday 12 September from 3:15 pm4:15 pm

| £7.50 / 6.50

One of Scotland’s wittiest writers of crime,

Bloody Scotland Programme of Events

Best Crime Book 2015 Shortlist

The shortlist, which was chosen by an independent panel of readers from a longlist of 55 books, is as follows:

Paths of the Dead, Lin Anderson

DM For Murder, Matt Bendoris

Dead Girl Walking, Chris Brookmyre

Thin Air, Ann Cleeves

The Ghosts of Altona, Craig Russell

Death Is A Welcome Guest, Louise Welsh

Full details on crime writing prize

The overall winning book will be announced at our gala dinner on Saturday 12 September as part of the Bloody Scotland festival programme. The previous winners are Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012.

You can dine with crime writers and celebrate the announcement of the awards – buy tickets


An Evening with Janice Galloway, Aye Write 29 September, 2015
Galloway In Glasgow Friday, September 11 Tell It Slant

This section: Books, Talks, Poetry and Creative Writing Events

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design