Longlist for McIlvanney Prize Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2019

bloody scotland logo



A Breath on Dying Embers, Denzil Meyrick (Polygon)
A Treachery of Spies, Manda Scott (Transworld)
All That’s Dead, Stuart MacBride (Harper Collins)
All the Hidden Truths, Claire Askew (Hodder)
Breakers, Doug Johnstone (Orenda)
Broken Ground, Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
Conviction, Denise Mina (Vintage)
Fallen Angel, Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
In a House of Lies, Ian Rankin (Orion)
In the Silence, M R Mackenzie (Bloodhound Books)
No Man’s Land, Neil Broadfoot (Little, Brown)
The Way of All Flesh, Ambrose Parry (Canongate) aka Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman
Thunder Bay, Douglas Skelton (Polygon)


All the Hidden Truths, Claire Askew (Hodder)
Black Camp 21, Bill Jones (Polygon)
From the Shadows, G R Halliday (Vintage)
In the Silence, M R Mackenzie (Bloodhound)
The Peat Dead, Allan Martin (Thunderpoint)

The longlist and shortlist were chosen by an independent panel of readers and booksellers and the finalists for the McIlvanney Prize 2019 will be revealed at the beginning of September and selected by Alison Flood, books reporter for The Guardian; James Crawford, presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky; and Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster who was formerly a senior executive at Channel 4.

The debut prize will be judged by a panel from Bloody Scotland board including Lin Anderson, Craig Robertson, Gordon Brown and Abir Mukerjee. The debut shortlist makes up the debut panel at the Bloody Scotland festival on Saturday 21 September, 2019.

Further details at Bloody Scotland Website


Some Distant Day with Cheeky Besom Productions
Express Yourself – Poets at Tellit Slant

This section: Books, Talks, Poetry and Creative Writing Events

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design