Bloody Scotland 2022 McIlvanney Prize Long List

mcilvanney prize bloody scotland

The McIlvanney Prize is Bloody Scotland’s annual prize awarded to the best Scottish Crime book of the year. It provides Scottish crime writing with recognition and aims to raise the profile and prestige of the genre as a whole.

The longlisted titles for 2022 are:

May God Forgive, Alan Parks (Canongate)
The Second Cut, Louise Welsh (Canongate)
A Rattle of Bones, Douglas Skelton (Polygon)
From the Ashes, Deborah Masson (Transworld)
A Matter of Time, Claire Askew (Hodder)
A Corruption of Blood, Ambrose Parry (Canongate)
The Heretic, Liam McIlvanney (Harpercollins)
Rizzio, Denise Mina (Polygon)
The Sound of Sirens, Ewan Gault (Leamington Books)
The Blood Tide, Neil Lancaster (Harpercollins)

McIlvanney Prize Bloody Scotland

Previous Winners of the McIlvanney Prize

mcilvanney prize previous winners

Although Manda Scott’s A Treachery of Spies was chosen as the 2019 McIlvanney Prize winner, she chose to equally share the prize with the shortlisters Doug Johnstone, Denise Mina and Ambrose Parry.


The Quaker
Liam McIlvanney


Denis Mina
The Long Drop


Chris Brookmyre
Black Widow


Craig Russell
The Ghosts of Altona



Peter May
Entry Island


Malcolm Mackay
How A Gunman Says Goodbye


Charles Cumming
A Foreign Country

A Day Of Fun Inspired by John Byrne
Pitch Perfect at Bloody Scotland 2022

This section: Bloody Scotland, Books, Talks, Poetry and Creative Writing Events, Pat's Home Page Blog

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Comments are closed.

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design