Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End
Lou

Harry Prendergast

I am a west end artist, researching the life of my father, Harry Prendergast, now deceased. Harry was jamaican and a larger than life character in Glasgow's west end from the late 60s until the early 70s. We lived in West End Park Street, off Woodlands road, and previously in Belmont Street, Park Road and Athole Gardens. Harry can best be described as a 'gangster' but was very charismatic. I suppose he will have made many friends and enemies in Glasgow. I would be so grateful to hear from anyone who knew him or my mother, Roby (Roberta) Stewart, also deceased. They were the ultimate party couple, I have been told, and Harry also had something to do with a club in Sauchiehall Street called 'The Revolution'. Does anyone know it, went there? remember any West Indians going there? I would love to know more about those days in Glasgow, when I was just a little girl.

I am a west end artist, researching the life of my father, Harry Prendergast, now deceased. Harry was jamaican and a larger than life character in Glasgow's west end from the late 60s until the early 70s. We lived in West End Park Street, off Woodlands road, and previously in Belmont Street, Park Road and Athole Gardens. Harry can best be described as a 'gangster' but was very charismatic. I suppose he will have made many friends and enemies in Glasgow. I would be so grateful to hear from anyone who knew him or my mother, Roby (Roberta) Stewart, also deceased. They were the ultimate party couple, I have been told, and Harry also had something to do with a club in Sauchiehall Street called 'The Revolution'. Does anyone know it, went there? remember any West Indians going there? I would love to know more about those days in Glasgow, when I was just a little girl.

Athole Gardens is a lovely place to live. Harry's name rings some bells Lou and I will check out with some of the older people in my family. Very best with your search.