Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End
Sign in to follow this  
ck1

US Visitor in June

Hello.

I am to visit in June '09 from San Francisco. (Later we're going up north west past Skye)

I am interested in traditional music and piping (I'm just starting out), and hope to stay for a few days in the West End. Perhaps a B&B? I am intersted in places I might visit to hear some good music in the evenings. I'd be grateful for ideas on quiet, interesting places my wife and I might stay (preferably West End, I think, no?), and where we might find music (or anythign else you think we simply *must* see!).

Regards,

CK

You can start here ...

*Click*

Glasgow is obsessed with football (soccer). Be advised that when asked you are a follower of Partick Thistle. The other two teams in the city, Rangers and Celtic, are (and you should use this word) sh*te.

The guys staggering down the middle of the road at 9am on a Saturday wearing orange sashes are not gay pride and their followers are belligerent. And unwashed.

:rolleyes:

I hope you find all the good stuff you're looking for. As to pubs, get off the subway at Kelvinhall, go right, then right again, walk for about a minute and a half and you'll find the Lismore on Dumbarton Road.

To me Glasgow is just a big city set in beautiful surroundings. It has some fascinating buildings & architecture such a Park Circus area, Art galleries & Kelvingrove areas in West End.

To me the surroundings are the best part I would hire a car to give me mobility A trip down to the Clyde coast. folowing the river on the south side down to Largs is wonderful. If The waverly, a paddle steamer, still does cruises they are a must. The Trossachs & Loch Lomond are fantastic but best avoided at weekends. Tourist trips to these places are well provided.

If going to Skye by car worth taking a couple of days to get there & visiting some of the Lochs & villages on the way North. The train journey to Mallaig, en route toSkye, is a great experience too.