Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End

New Statues for the Gorbals..

I love it....it's perfect sais it all..... a million memories in that group of statues for every mother that exists that watched their wee yin, boy or girl, dress up with mums high heels on.

What do you think though? Never mind what we all think.......

Is there one with girls in it coming up in the future? I hope so. I'm not so sure Glesca boys will think too much of it but I hope they smile fer ahm betting every single one of them wore their maws shoes at one time in their lives.

(and lippy)

What do you think Rolo

Posted that without putin my input.

I don't feel it does justice to the original picture (below), but then not being an artist I don't know how hard it is to capture the actual ragamuffin look and cheeky faces. I am not overwhelmed by them. come on now I'm waiting for the pelters

gorbalsboys-1.jpg

_44966170_6452fe90-3fac-438f-9c38-6.jpg

What do you think Rolo

Well, IMHO, the photo captures the essence of the subject, but the sculptures don't. Not even by half. The poses are stilted and unnatural. And literally lifeless...

And making the shoes silver? What's that about? Totally utterly alien to what the pic's about.

Frankly I'd far rather see the £40k going into a permanent exhibition of Oscar Marzaroli's archive.

:lol:

Guest Kelvin Groove

Well, IMHO, the photo captures the essence of the subject, but the sculptures don't. Not even by half. The poses are stilted and unnatural. And literally lifeless...

And making the shoes silver? What's that about? Totally utterly alien to what the pic's about.

Frankly I'd far rather see the £40k going into a permanent exhibition of Oscar Marzaroli's archive.

:P

Might help if you go and look at them as (a) sculpture, as 3D objects, as opposed to making a judgment based on a 2D image of a sculpture.

It's also not at all hard to understand why the shoes should be silver.

:lol:

Posted that without putin my input.