Film Listings at GFT, March 2018

the partys just beginning

Glasgow Film Theatre – Films for March, 2018

GFT in March: Lady Bird, The Square, A Fantastic Woman, You Were Never Really Here, CineMasters: Lynne Ramsay, CineMasters: Ingmar Bergman and Glasgow Short Film Festival 2018.

The GFT March brochure is available to view

GFT bring another packed programme to audiences this March, highlights of which include: a number of Glasgow Film Festival 2018 titles, including Opening Gala Isle of Dogs, Closing Gala Nae Pasaran, Lynne Ramsay’s You Were Never Really Here and Sebastian Leilo’s critically acclaimed A Fantastic Woman; Oscar nominated treats Lady Bird and The Square; plus two new CineMasters seasons celebrating Ingmar Bergman and Lynne Ramsay; and a selection of Q&As, including a live satellite Q&A with Michael Caine on the occasion of his 85th birthday, following a screening of My Generation.

See What’s On at GFT

In celebration of International Women’s Day on Thursday 8 March, the screening of insightful new documentary profiling communications technology pioneer, and famous Hollywood actress, Hedy Lamarr, Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story will be followed by a satellite Q&A with producer Susan Sarandon. An intimate and heartbreaking exploration into the effects of ME, from director Jennifer Brea, stunning documentary Unrest will be followed by a Q&A with Stuart Murdoch (Belle and Sebastian). Here to Be Heard: The Story of the Slits is a revealing new documentary telling the story of the world’s first all girl punk band, the screening will be followed by a Q&A with director William E Badgley and Slits members Tessa Pollitt and Palmolive.

See all Q&A listings

Glasgow Short Film Festival 2018

GFT hosts the international competition at the 11th Glasgow Short Film Festival, alongside some unusual special screenings. 32 films have been selected from over 1,700 submissions to compete for the 2018 Bill Douglas Award for International Short Film, named in honour of Scotland’s greatest filmmaker. You will have the chance to vote for your favourite to win the Audience Award. Join us for our opening screening, devote your Thursday to the eight hour short film Park Lanes or discover the work of neglected Paisley filmmaker Falconer Houston. Several of the filmmakers will be present and will take part in short Q&As after each screening.

See more Glasgow Short Film Festival announcements.

You Were Never Really Here_primaryStill_01

CineMasters: Lynne Ramsay

To celebrate the release of You Were Never Really Here, GFT is delighted to screen a survey of Glasgow-born director, and NFTS graduate, Lynne Ramsay’s feature films.

See all CineMasters: Lynne Ramsay listings

CineMasters: Ingmar Bergman

Celebrating the centenary of one of cinema’s greatest visionaries, GFT presents a selection of Ingmar Bergman’s work throughout March and April.

See all CineMasters: Ingmar Berman listings

The GFT March brochure is available to view here.

GFT Listings

For a full list of screenings with Q&A view here.

Lady Bird  –  Mon 5 – Thu 15 Mar

The Shape of Water  – Mon 5 – Thu 15 Mar

A Fantastic Woman – Mon 5 – Sun 11 Mar

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story + Q&A  – Thu 8 Mar

The Divine Order  –  Fri 9 – Thu 15 Mar

You Were Never Really Here  – Fri 9 – Thu 22 Mar

4 – Sat 10 – Mon 12 Mar

Macbeth  –   Tue 13 Mar

My Generation + Q&A – Wed 14 Mar

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story + Q&A        Sun 18 – Thu 22 Mar

The Square – Fri 16 – Thu 28 Mar

Sweet Country –  Fri 16 – Thu 22 Mar

Nick Triplow: Getting Carter + Screening of Get Carter –35mm –Tue 20 Mar

Brakes + Q&A   – Wed 21 Mar

The Third Murder – Fri 23– Thu 29 Mar

westwood punk

Westwood: Punk, Icon, Activist  – Fri 23 – Thu 29 Mar

The Nile Hilton Incident–Fri 23 – Thu 29 Mar

Disposession: The Great Social Housing Swindle + Q&A  – Sun 25 Mar

nae pasaran

Nae Pasaran – Sun 25 Mar

Dark River  – Mon 26 – Thu 29 Mar

Unrest + Q&A–Thu 2Mar

Isle of Dogs   – From 30 Mar

Cinemasters: Lynne Ramsay

morvrn caller

Ratcatcher – 35mm – Mon 12 Mar

Movern Callar – Mon 19 Mar

We Need to Talk About Kevin – Mon 26 Mar

Cinemasters: Ingmar Bergman

the seventh seal

The Seventh Seal  –Sun 11 Mar

Wild Strawberries – Sun 18 Mar

Persona   – Sun 25 Mar

The Touch –   Sun 1 Apr

The Magic Flute – Sun 8 Apr

short film festival

Glasgow Short Film Festival

Opening Screening: What Makes a Glasgow Short?   –  Wed 14 Marz

Kevin Jerome Everson: Park Lanes   – Thu 15 Mar

International Comp 1  –Thu 15 & Sat 17 Mar

International Comp 2  –Thu 15 Mar

International Comp 3  – Fri 16 & Sat 17 Mar

International Comp 4 –Fri 16 & Sat 17 Mar

International Comp 5 –Fri 16 & Sun 18 Mar

International Comp 6 –Fri 16 & Sun 18 Mar

The Forgotten Films of Falconer Houston – Sat 17 Mar

Movie Memories

A Kind of Seeing: Glasgow Life – Thu 29 Mar

Easter Parade   – Thu 12 Apr

Crossing The Line

LUX Scotland presents: Glare – Sun 25 Mar


Sound and Vision

Distant Sky: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

– Live in Copenhagen  – Thu 12 Apr

Here to Be Heard: The Story of the Slits   – Sun 22 Apr

Take 2: Free Family Friendly Films

Ferdinand    – Sat 10 Mar

GSFF: Family Shorts – Sat 17 Mar

Coco   – Sat 24 Mar

Zootropolis   –Sat 31 Mar

Paddington 2   – Sat 3 Feb

Take 2 Access: Autism Friendly Screenings

Ferdinand   – Sat 10 Mar

Late Night

Speed – 35mm – Fri 23 Mar

lady bird

GFT Regulars

Access Film Club: Lady Bird  –                                Tue 13 Mar

Visible Cinema & GSFF: Deaf Shorts   –                Sun 18 Mar

Discussion Groups

Glasgore! Horror/Cult Film Discussion Group  –     Tue 2 Jan & Tue 6 Feb

Film Discussion Group  – Wed 10 Jan & Wed 14 Feb

Event Cinema

Bolshoi Ballet: The Flames of Paris – Tue 6 Mar

NT Live Encore: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof    – Wed 7 Mar

NT Live: Julius Caesar   – Thu 22 Mar

Bolshoi Ballet: Giselle  – Sun 8 Apr

NT Live Encore: Macbeth  – Thu 10 May

Bolshoi Ballet: Coppélia –  Sun 10 Jun

Glasgow Film Theatre, 12 Rose Street, G3 6RB

Jo Pratt & Sumayya Usmani: The Flexible Vegetarian at Aye Write, 2018.
Owen Mullen, Claire MacLeary and Angus McAllister Criminal Beginnings at Aye Write

This section: Cinema, Events, Fairs, Festivals and Fundraisers, Glasgow Film Festival 2018, What's On Glasgow West End: cinema, clubs, theatre, music, events, festivals, community and more

Written by :

Avatar of PatByrne Publisher of Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End; the community guide to the West End of Glasgow. Fiction and non-fiction writer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright Glasgow Westend 2009 thru 2017

Contact Pat's Guide to Glasgow West End | About Pat Byrne | Privacy Policy | Design by Jim Byrne Website Design